2018 Fellows

2018 Sloan Research Fellows

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation congratulates the winners of the 2018 Sloan Research Fellowships. These 126 early-career scholars represent the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S. and Canada. Winners receive $65,000, which may be spent over a two-year term on any expense supportive of their research.


Andrew Ault, University of Michigan

Daniel Bachovchin, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Timothy Berkelbach, The University of Chicago

Matteo Cargnello, Stanford University

Qian Chen, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Tianning Diao, New York University

Ying Diao, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Brett Fors, Cornell University

Skye Fortier, University of Texas, El Paso

Rajamani Gounder, Purdue University

Todd Hyster, Princeton University

Katherine Mirica, Dartmouth College

Hosea Nelson, University of California, Los Angeles

Livia Schiavinato Eberlin, University of Texas, Austin

Gabriela Schlau-Cohen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Hannah Shafaat, Ohio State University

Alex K. Shalek, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ellen Sletten, University of California, Los Angeles

Jin Suntivich, Cornell University

Venkat Viswanathan, Carnegie Mellon University

Timothy Wencewicz, Washington University in St. Louis

Jenny Y. Yang, University of California, Irvine

Xin Zhang, The Pennsylvania State University

Computational & Evolutionary Molecular Biology

Frank Albert, University of Minnesota

Ludmil Alexandrov, University of California, San Diego

James Chappell, Rice University

Kevin Esvelt, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jingyi Jessica Li, University of California, Los Angeles

Iain Mathieson, University of Pennsylvania

Hamed Shateri Najafabadi, McGill University

Julia Palacios, Stanford University

Andreas Pfenning, Carnegie Mellon University

Nidhi Sahni, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Mary Caswell Stoddard, Princeton University

Li Zhao, Rockefeller University

Computer Science

Maya Cakmak, University of Washington

Jia Deng, University of Michigan

Finale Doshi-Velez, Harvard University

Anca Dragan, University of California, Berkeley

Chris Harrison, Carnegie Mellon University

Stefanie Jegelka, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Bryan Parno, Carnegie Mellon University

Andrew Pavlo, Carnegie Mellon University

Simon Peter, University of Texas, Austin

Raluca Ada Popa, University of California, Berkeley

Shubhangi Saraf, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Suchi Saria, Johns Hopkins University

Yaron Singer, Harvard University

Karthik Sridharan, Cornell University

Gordon Wetzstein, Stanford University

Daniel Wichs, Northeastern University


Treb Allen, Dartmouth College

Isaiah Andrews, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Eduardo Azevedo, University of Pennsylvania

Arun Chandrasekhar, Stanford University

Supreet Kaur, University of California, Berkeley

Joseph S. Shapiro, Yale University

Stefanie Stantcheva, Harvard University

Danny Yagan, University of California, Berkeley


Jennifer Balakrishnan, Boston University

Afonso Bandeira, New York University

Tamara Broderick, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Joan Bruna Estrach, New York University

Yaiza Canzani, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Melody Chan, Brown University

Tristan Collins, Harvard University

Marcelo Disconzi, Vanderbilt University

Robert Haslhofer, University of Toronto Scarborough

Miranda Holmes-Cerfon, New York University

Tye Lidman, North Carolina State University

Joe Neeman, University of Texas, Austin

Andrei NeguĊ£, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Lillian Pierce, Duke University

Arul Shankar, University of Toronto

Stefan Steinerberger, Yale University

Giulio Tiozzo, University of Toronto

Thomas Walpuski, Michigan State University

Lutz Warnke, Georgia Institute of Technology

Yihong Wu, Yale University


David Breslow, Yale University

Janice Chen, Johns Hopkins University

Shinjae Chung, University of Pennsylvania

Eleanor Clowney, University of Michigan

Ada Eban-Rothschild, University of Michigan

Samuel Gershman, Harvard University

Bilal Haider, Georgia Institute of Technology

Alexander Huth, University of Texas, Austin

Markita Landry, University of California, Berkeley

Timothy Mosca, Thomas Jefferson University

Carolyn Parkinson, University of California, Los Angeles

Zeynep Saygin, Ohio State University

Mark Sheffield, The University of Chicago

Stuart Trenholm, McGill University

Shigeki Watanabe, Johns Hopkins University

Daniel Yamins, Stanford University

Ocean Sciences

Vinayak Agarwal, Georgia Institute of Technology

Rebecca Asch, East Carolina University

Frank Aylward, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Daniele Bianchi, University of California, Los Angeles

Julia M. Diaz, University of Georgia

Sandra Kirtland Turner, University of California, Riverside

Xinfeng Liang, University of South Florida

Chelsea Wood, University of Washington


Maissam Barkeshli, University of Maryland, College Park

Konstantin Batygin, California Institute of Technology

Anushya Chandran, Boston University

Cui-Zu Chang, The Pennsylvania State University

Jiun-Haw Chu, University of Washington

Riccardo Comin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Rebekah Dawson, The Pennsylvania State University

Jim Fuller, California Institute of Technology

Pinshane Huang, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

David Kipping, Columbia University

Elena Koslover, University of California, San Diego

Alexie Leauthaud, University of California, Santa Cruz

Wen Li, Boston University

Yi Li, Johns Hopkins University

Tongyan Lin, University of California, San Diego

Arka Majumdar, University of Washington

David Moore, Yale University

Jacquelyn Noronha-Hostler, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Tenio Popmintchev, University of California, San Diego

David Simmons-Duffin, California Institute of Technology

Amar Vutha, University of Toronto

Jessica Werk, University of Washington

Norman Yao, University of California, Berkeley