THE NEW YORK TIMES, THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 15, 2018



The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation congratulates the winners of the 2018 Sloan Research Fellowships. These 126 early-career scholars represent the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S. and Canada. Since 1955, Sloan Research Fellows have gone on to win 45 Nobel Prizes, 16 Fields Medals, 69 National Medals of Science, 17 John Bates Clark Medals, and numerous other distinguished awards.

CHEMISTRY

Andrew Ault

University of Michigan

Daniel Bachovchin

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Timothy Berkelbach The University of Chicago

Matteo Cargnello

Stanford University

Qian Chen

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Tianning Diao New York University

Ying Diao

Brett Fors

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Cornell University

Skye Fortier

University of Texas, El Paso

Rajamani Gounder

Purdue University

Todd Hyster Princeton University

Katherine Mirica

Dartmouth College

Hosea Nelson University of California, Los Angeles

Livia Schiavinato Eberlin

University of Texas, Austin

Gabriela Schlau-Cohen

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Hannah Shafaat

Ohio State University

Alex K. Shalek

Massachusetts Institute of Technology **Ellen Sletten**

University of California, Los Angeles

Jin Suntivich Cornell University

Venkat Viswanathan

Carnegie Mellon University

Timothy Wencewicz

Washington University in St. Louis

Jenny Y. Yang University of California, Irvine

Xin Zhang The Pennsylvania State University

COMPUTATIONAL & EVOLUTIONARY MOLECULAR BIOLOGY

Frank Albert

University of Minnesota

Ludmil Alexandrov

University of California, San Diego

James Chappell Rice University

Kevin Esvelt

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Jingyi Jessica Li

University of California, Los Angeles

lain Mathieson University of Pennsylvania

Carnegie Mellon University

Hamed Shateri Najafabadi McGill University

Julia Palacios

Andreas Pfenning

Stanford University

Nidhi Sahni

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Mary Caswell Stoddard

Princeton University

Li Zhao

Rockefeller University

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Maya Cakmak

University of Washington

Jia Deng University of Michigan

Finale Doshi-Velez

Harvard University

Anca Dragan

University of California, Berkeley

Chris Harrison

Carnegie Mellon University

Stefanie Jegelka Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Bryan Parno

Carnegie Mellon University

Andrew Pavlo

Carnegie Mellon University

Simon Peter University of Texas, Austin

Raluca Ada Popa

University of California, Berkeley

Shubhangi Saraf Rutgers, The State University of

New Jersey

Suchi Saria

Johns Hopkins University

Yaron Singer

Harvard University

Karthik Sridharan Cornell University

Gordon Wetzstein

Stanford University

Daniel Wichs

Northeastern University

ECONOMICS

Treb Allen

Dartmouth College

Isaiah Andrews

Massachusetts Institute of Technology **Eduardo Azevedo**

University of Pennsylvania

Arun Chandrasekhar

Stanford University

Supreet Kaur University of California, Berkeley

Yale University

Joseph S. Shapiro

Stefanie Stantcheva

Harvard University

Danny Yagan

University of California, Berkeley

MATHEMATICS

Jennifer Balakrishnan **Boston University**

Afonso Bandeira New York University

Tamara Broderick

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Joan Bruna Estrach

New York University

Yaiza Canzani

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Melody Chan

Brown University

Tristan Collins

Marcelo Disconzi

Harvard University

Vanderbilt University

Robert Haslhofer University of Toronto Scarborough

Miranda Holmes-Cerfon

New York University

Tye Lidman

North Carolina State University Joe Neeman

University of Texas, Austin

Andrei Negut Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Lillian Pierce Duke University

Arul Shankar

University of Toronto **Stefan Steinerberger**

Yale University **Giulio Tiozzo**

University of Toronto

Thomas Walpuski

Michigan State University **Lutz Warnke**

Georgia Institute of Technology

Yihong Wu Yale University

NEUROSCIENCE

David Breslow

Yale University

Janice Chen

Johns Hopkins University Shinjae Chung

University of Pennsylvania **Eleanor Clowney**

University of Michigan

Ada Eban-Rothschild University of Michigan

Samuel Gershman

Harvard University

Bilal Haider Georgia Institute of Technology

Alexander Huth University of Texas, Austin

Markita Landry

University of California, Berkeley **Timothy Mosca**

Thomas Jefferson University

Carolyn Parkinson University of California, Los Angeles

Zeynep Saygin Ohio State University

Mark Sheffield The University of Chicago **Stuart Trenholm**

McGill University Shigeki Watanabe

Johns Hopkins University **Daniel Yamins**

Stanford University

OCEAN SCIENCES

Vinayak Agarwal

Georgia Institute of Technology

Rebecca Asch East Carolina University

Frank Aylward Virginia Polytechnic Institute

and State University **Daniele Bianchi**

University of California, Los Angeles Julia M. Diaz

University of Georgia **Sandra Kirtland Turner**

University of California, Riverside

Xinfeng Liang University of South Florida

PHYSICS

Chelsea Wood

University of Washington

Maissam Barkeshli University of Maryland, College Park

Konstantin Batygin California Institute of Technology

Anushya Chandran

Boston University Cui-Zu Chang

The Pennsylvania State University **Jiun-Haw Chu**

Riccardo Comin Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Rebekah Dawson

University of Washington

The Pennsylvania State University Jim Fuller

California Institute of Technology

Pinshane Huang University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

David Kipping Columbia University

Elena Koslover University of California, San Diego

Alexie Leauthaud University of California, Santa Cruz

Boston University

Johns Hopkins University **Tongyan Lin**

University of California, San Diego

Arka Majumdar University of Washington

David Moore Yale University

New Jersey

Jacquelyn Noronha-Hostler Rutgers, The State University of

Tenio Popmintchev University of California, San Diego

David Simmons-Duffin California Institute of Technology

Amar Vutha University of Toronto

Jessica Werk University of Washington

Norman Yao University of California, Berkeley



Too often we fail to recognize and pay tribute to the creative spirit... There has to be this pioneer, the individual who has the courage, the ambition to overcome the obstacles that always develop when one tries to do something worthwhile, especially when it is new and different. (Alfred P. Sloan Jr., 1941)

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is a philanthropic, not-for-profit grantmaking institution that supports original research and education in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and economics. **sloan.org**